Youth Advisory Council

Pope County Representatives for the Youth Advisory Council
Posted on 10/25/2018
PCHS Youth Advisory Council MembersSenator Dale Fowler welcomed dozens of high school students from across the 59th Senate District to his annual Youth Advisory Council, a unique, hands-on, opportunity for area students to learn about and experience state government and public policy. Pope County's Representatives are Natalie Bonnell, Jacob Lemon, and Kaleb Schutt. Mr. Phillip Hosfeldt accompanied the students.

Fowler hosted an all-day Youth Advisory Council at the Southeastern Illinois College in Harrisburg, bringing together students selected by their principals and teachers from the high schools of Crab Orchard, Galatia, Goreville, Sesser Vailer, Zeigler Royalton, Harrisburg, Herrin, Pope County, Eldorado, Anna-Jonesboro, Carrier Mills, Vienna, Gallatin County, Marion, Cairo, Dongola, Frankfort Community, and Johnston City.

Senator Fowler invited local leaders in the community to speak to the students, The guest speakers gave the students insight about their careers and advice about leadership and achieving their goals.

In the spring, Senator Fowler's Youth Advisory Council will meet again in Springfield.